Friday, May 8, 2015

Farm & Food Care election results

Derek Schoonbaert is the new member elected to the executive of Farm & Food Care Foundation.

He is managing director for Cargill Value Added Meats (CVAM). 

He is responsible for supplying beef and poultry products to McDonald’s restaurants across Canada.

Schoonbaert is also the vice president of the board of directors for Ronald McDonald House,  Southwestern Ontario.

Rejoining the board for three-year terms are Leanne Cooley  of L.H. Gray and Son Ltd., John Geurtjens of Farm Credit Canada), beef farmer Ian McKillop and Jean Szkotnicki, chief of staff at the Canadian Animal Health Institute.

 They join Bruce Christie of Nutreco, Adele Buettner of Farm & Food Care Saskatchewan, John Jamieson  of the Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture, Carolynne Griffith, past president of Egg Famers of Ontario, John Maaskant, veteran and now-retired director of Chicken Farmers of Ontario, Rick Martin  of Wallenstein Feed & Supply Ltd., Kim McConnell, strategic advisor and former CEO of Adfarm, Gwen Paddock of RBC Royal Bank, Barry Senft, chief executive officer of Grain Farmers of Ontario, Diane Squires of Smith Valeriote Law Firm LLP and farmer Paul Wettlaufer.

The Board also passed a special resolution to amend the organization’s name to Farm & Food Care. 

The Farm & Food Care Foundation aims to improve the public image of farming., especially relating to animal welfare and responsible pesticide use.