Friday, February 11, 2022

Canadian poultry faces bans

About a dozen countries have banned Canadian poultry because highly-pathogenic avian influenza has been identified in Newfoundland and Nova Scotia.

Europe imposed its ban after the outbreak in an exhibition flock in Newfoundland. The others imposed their bans after the disease broke out in a commercial flock in Nova Scotia.

The ban is on Canadian birds, poultry meats and eggs.

Among those imposing the bans are the United States, Japan, Hong Kong, Mexico, the Philippines, Russia, South Korea and Taiwan.

The U.S. has had more recent outbreaks from Florida to Indiana than Canada.