Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Tax deferrals offered to livestock farmers

The federal government is offering tax deferrals for farmers hit by the weather last year.

This extends a program that applied to much of the Northern tier of Ontario last year.

“Extreme weather created difficulties for Canada’s livestock industry across the country last summer,” said Agriculture Minister Lawrence MacAulay to explain why the tax break is being offered.

“This tax deferral will help producers manage the impacts of the drought, and to focus on rebuilding their herds in coming years,” he said.

It also applies to parts of Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia.

The Ontario municipalities covered this year are:

Belleville,  Kingston, Niagara Falls, Peterborough, Port Colborne, St. Catharines, Welland, Haldimand County, Centre Hastings, Trent Hills, Tweed, Fort Erie, Greater Napanee, Grimsby, Lincoln, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Pelham, Frontenac Islands, Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Loyalist, Madoc, South Frontenac, Stone Mills, Tyendinaga,  Wainfleet and West Lincoln.