Monday, December 21, 2020

New leaders for Canadian Grain Commission

Doug Chorney has been chosen chief commissioner and Patty Rosher assistant chief commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission.

They were appointed to four-year terms by federal Agriculture Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau.

In Ontario, the commission has its provincial head office in Chatham. 

Among many responsibilities is checking international grain movements.

Bibeau said Chorney has been “an active player in the grain industry for 24 years.” He is a former president of Keystone Agricultural Producers, Manitoba’s counterpart to the Ontario Federation of Agriculture.

Rosher’s most recent job was general manager of Keystone Agricultural Producers.

She is the first woman to hold a senior appointed position on the commission.